October 17, 2017, 03:58:02 AMLatest Member: jbaustin2017

Author Topic: Features in the HUD.  (Read 3736 times)

HalfDecent

• Registered member
    • View Profile
Features in the HUD.
« on: October 10, 2012, 02:36:06 PM »
I've only played CorsixTH for a few hours, but already I've come across a bit of a problem. While the ability to play in higher resolution is great for general game play, it does make the HUD and buttons across the bottom a lot smaller than they used to be. This wouldn't be too much of a problem, except I found that I kept missing bulletins and announcements when they popped up, as they were too small to catch my attention.

I'm not a graphics designer, but I have made sprites for a few amateur games in the past, and I'd be happy to give recreating slightly bigger icons a go if someone could tell me what size and format they need to be in.

MarkL

• View Profile
Re: Features in the HUD.
« Reply #1 on: October 10, 2012, 06:33:11 PM »
I don't think it is bigger icons or buttons that are needed as anyone with a smaller display would lose to much of the screen to these.  What is needed is the ability for them to scale up or down in proportion to the display size. Take a look at Interface & font scaling which is here http://code.google.com/p/corsix-th/wiki/ProgrammingIdeas

If you feel up to the challenge that would be great.  if you have any questions then log into IRC chat - there is is link above - and ask them there. 

Lego3

• Project Owner
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 11, 2012, 06:28:13 AM »
At the same time we will need new icons in the future. The problem is that we can't import new graphics into the game at the moment, and hence there is no decided format to adopt yet either.
For the end of the world spell, press Control, Alt, Delete.

MarkL

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: October 11, 2012, 11:58:34 AM »
@ Edvin