November 23, 2017, 11:05:14 AMLatest Member: calwallace

Author Topic: I'd Like to Rework the Music  (Read 4642 times)

JimRussell440

• Registered member
    • View Profile
I'd Like to Rework the Music
« on: January 12, 2014, 11:23:34 PM »
Hi,

I've been enjoying CorsixTH and have been thinking more and more about the music of the original game, which is wired deep into my childhood brain.

Nowadays I'm a music producer, and I'm considering extracting the MIDI files from the original and using modern production methods to rework the music.

What would you guys think about offering an optional pack of WAVs/MP3s to download for use in the jukebox?  8)

Cheers

Jim

TheCycoONE

• Project Owner
    • View Profile
Re: I'd Like to Rework the Music
« Reply #1 on: January 13, 2014, 02:38:32 AM »
Hello Jim,

My understanding is that we're open to supplementing any of the in game resources, assuming the result is good quality and captures the spirit of the original.  In the mean time you could attach your music here in the forums for anyone interested.

TheCycoONE

• Project Owner
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 13, 2014, 02:43:32 AM »

JimRussell440

• Registered member
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: January 13, 2014, 10:31:16 AM »
Oh, cool – so there's already some original composition in there, and it sounds (from those links) pretty true to the original.

What I was talking about, specifically, is reimplementing the MIDI code, running it through some modern software instruments and having it ready as WAV files. In other words, it'd be the same songs, just sounding 'like real music', and it won't vary from soundcard to soundcard.

Of course, I'm not knocking the original music we know and love – it's classic – I'm suggesting an option in the jukebox to use higher-quality stuff, actual audio, that would have had too big a file size for the original game.

Lego3

• Project Owner
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: January 13, 2014, 01:03:17 PM »