November 16, 2018, 02:04:10 PMLatest Member: Yayoumee

Author Topic: How to change the difficulty level?  (Read 4900 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Ormuzd

  • Registered member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
How to change the difficulty level?
« on: January 11, 2015, 02:28:29 PM »
When I choose the campaign, the button to choose the difficulty level only gives me one option (doctor [medium]).
I've seen videos and the button would have to have 3 levels, easy (junior), medium (doctor) and difficult (consultant), why do I get my only one level of difficulty?

Thank You.

MarkL

  • Moderator
  • ***
  • Posts: 362
    • View Profile
Re: How to change the difficulty level?
« Reply #1 on: January 11, 2015, 07:26:28 PM »
That sounds like you don't have the full game.

Where did you get your TH game files?

Ormuzd

  • Registered member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: How to change the difficulty level?
« Reply #2 on: January 12, 2015, 12:00:12 AM »
That sounds like you don't have the full game.

Where did you get your TH game files?

The original CD (big box). I've always played the game with him. And I remember in the original game, when I chose the campaign I could choose the difficulty.

I simply copy the entire contents of the CD to a folder and the installation of CorsixTH I chose that folder.

MarkL

  • Moderator
  • ***
  • Posts: 362
    • View Profile
Re: How to change the difficulty level?
« Reply #3 on: January 12, 2015, 01:03:36 PM »
In that case you should be able to select different difficulties with CorsixTH as well. 

Check in the `hosp` folder from the original to check all the data has copied over.
In levels you should have .sam files for all the levels  i.e. full01.sam easy01.sam and hard01.sam etc

MarkL

  • Moderator
  • ***
  • Posts: 362
    • View Profile
Re: How to change the difficulty level?
« Reply #4 on: January 12, 2015, 07:07:37 PM »
Something I have just thought about, I think the early editions of Theme Hospital only had the one difficulty level and that there was a patch that added the other two and I  think also added some network options for multi player.

Perhaps someone else can confirm this or not?

aneurysm1985

  • Registered member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: How to change the difficulty level?
« Reply #5 on: February 28, 2015, 04:08:27 AM »
I am using a version of the game downloaded from GOG.com, and I am also only seeing "Doctor (Medium)" as the only difficulty option. Any suggestions? I am using Linux.

aneurysm1985

  • Registered member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: How to change the difficulty level?
« Reply #6 on: March 01, 2015, 10:57:36 PM »
Out of interest, I just tried installing the version 0.40 software on Windows, and I am able to see all 3 difficulties (Easy, Medium, Hard).

Perhaps the issue is isolated to Linux only? Can anyone else confirm/deny?